Click to Home
Go To Search
Holiday Schedule
2017 Garbage Collection Holiday Schedule
The 2017 Roanoke County Holiday Garbage Collection Schedule is as follows:

New Year's Day 2017 - Observed on Monday, January 2, 2017
All routes will be one day late.

All offices will be closed on Monday, January 2, 2017, for the New Year Day's holiday.

Martin Luther King, Jr. Day - January 16, 2017
All routes on regular schedule.

While garbage collection will be on schedule, all County offices will be closed in observance of the holiday.

Presidents' Day - February 20, 2017
All routes on regular schedule.

Memorial Day - May 29, 2017
All routes will be one day late.

Independence Day - July 4, 2017 - Significant Change
Monday routes will be collected on schedule - Monday, July 3, 2017.
Tuesday routes will be collected on Wednesday, July 5, 2017.
Wednesday routes will be collected on Thursday, July 6, 2017.
Thursday routes will be collected on Friday, July 7, 2017.

All offices will be closed on Tuesday, July 4, 2017, for the Independence Day holiday.

Labor Day - September 4, 2017
All routes will be one day late.

Columbus Day - October 9, 2017
All routes are on regular schedule.

Veterans' Day - November 11, 2017
All routes are on regular schedule.

Thanksgiving Week Collection Schedule (November 20 - 24, 2017) - Significant Change
Monday routes will be collected on Monday, November 20, 2017.
Tuesday routes will be collected on Monday, November 20, 2017.
Wednesday routes will be collected on Tuesday, November 21, 2017.
Thursday routes will be collected on Wednesday, November 22, 2017.

All offices will be closed on Thursday and Friday (November 23 and 24, 2017) for the holiday.

Christmas Holiday - December 25 and 26, 2017 - Significant Change
Monday routes will be collected on Wednesday, December 27, 2017.
Tuesday routes will be collected on Wednesday, December 27, 2017.
Wednesday routes will be collected on Thursday, December 28, 2017.
Thursday routes will be collected on Friday, December 29, 2017.

All offices will be closed on Monday and Tuesday (December 25 and 26, 2017) for the Christmas holiday.

New Year's Day 2018 - January 1, 2018
All routes will be one day late.


Where to Find This Information
Collection schedules will be shown on this website, Channel 3 - RVTV (the Government Access Channel on Cox Communications and Comcast Cable), and the Roanoke Times. 

If you have any questions about how your collection day will be affected, please call the Solid Waste Division at 540-387-6225.