Building Code Board of Adjustments & Appeals / Fire Code Board of Appeals

Roanoke County Appointed Members

  • Robert "Morgan" Yates, Roanoke County Building Commissioner
  • Christopher Griffith, Roanoke County Fire Chief
  • Brian Simmons, Roanoke County Fire Marshal
  • Richard E Evans
    Four-year term expires April 13, 2024
  • Peter G. Fields
    Four-year term expires January 24, 2024
  • David Jones
    Four-year term expires April 27, 2024
  • James R. Ruhland III
    Four-year term expires July 29, 2026
  • Todd Sutphin
    Four-year term expires December 31, 2022
  • William Fowler
    Four-year term expires June 28, 2026


On August 19, 1997, the board designated the county's Building Code Board of Adjustments and Appeals to serve as the Fire Code Board of Appeals.


In the absence of any regular members, the Board of Supervisors may appoint alternate members to sit on the board. Alternates have the full power and authority of a regular member. At least one member is an experienced builder, and at least one member is a licensed professional engineer / architect.

For More Information

If you have any questions or would like more information, please contact Robert "Morgan" Yates Roanoke County Building Commissioner at 540-772-2065.