Roanoke Valley Greenway Commission

Roanoke County Appointed Members

Frank Simms
Three-year term expires June 30, 2025

Gregory Walter
Three-year term expires April 8, 2024

Barry Trent
Three-year term expires September 8, 2023


The purpose of the Roanoke Valley Greenway Commission is to promote and facilitate coordinated direction and guidance in the planning, development, and maintenance of a system of greenways through the Roanoke Valley.


The commission includes three members from each of the participating political subdivisions who are appointed by the governing bodies for a term of three years, except for the initial appointments which are staggered for each representative as a one-, two-, and three-year term as determined by the governing body.

One member is appointed by the Metropolitan Planning Organization of the Fifth Planning District Commission for a term of three years. In addition, the following individuals or their designated representatives serve as ex-officio, non-voting members:

  • Chief planning official of each jurisdiction
  • Official responsible for parks and recreation from each jurisdiction
  • One representative of the non profit group heretofore established to support greenways in the Roanoke Valley
  • One representative of the Western Virginia Land Trust

For More Information

If you have any questions or would like meeting details, please visit the Roanoke Valley Greenways website.