Precious Metals Permit Application Process

These procedures must be completed in their entirety EVERY YEAR. Please start this process 45
days prior to the expiration of your current license.

Please read and understand the Code of Virginia and the Roanoke County Code before you
begin the license process.

Roanoke County Code — Sections 16.1.1 thru 16.1-20
http://library.municode.com/index.aspx?clientld=12222 (dlick search, and type in 16.1.1)

Code of Virginia—§ 54.1-4100
http://legl.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+54.1-4100

If you have any further questions, please contact the Roanoke County Police Department
Criminal Investigations Division at (540) 777-8641.

Permit Process
1. Complete the Roanoke County Police Department’s Precious Metals Permit Application.
2. Complete the Virginia State Police’s Criminal History Request (Form SP-187).

http://www.vsp.state.va.us/FormsCH-SOR.shtm
a. Please click here for instructions on completing this form.

3. Obtain a set of fingerprints from the Roanoke County Sheriff’s Office (not the Police
Department).
a. Go to the front office of the Roanoke County Jail, located at:
401 East Main Street, Salem, Virginia 24153.
Monday, Wednesday, Friday
8:00 am —12:00 pm
Tuesday and Thursday
12:00 pm - 1:00 pm
Closed Holidays

b. $5.00 CASH is required for each fingerprint card and only one fingerprint card is
required.

c. MUST have valid photo identification.


http://library.municode.com/index.aspx?clientId=12222
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+54.1-4100
http://www.vsp.state.va.us/FormsCH-SOR.shtm

4. Return the following items to the Roanoke County Police Department, located at 5925
Cove Road, Roanoke, Virginia 24019.
a. Completed Roanoke County Police Department’s Precious Metals Permit
Application.

b. Completed Virginia State Police Criminal History Request — signed along with
$15.00 payment.

c. Payment can be a $15.00 money order to Virginia State Police or credit card
information, which is completed on the form.

d. Money order for $200.00 for the Treasurer, County of Roanoke.
Completed fingerprint card.

f. Current inspection and approval of ALL weighing devices that will be used at the
business.

g. Bond or letter of credit as required by Code of Virginia.

5. The police department will send the information to the Virginia State Police for criminal
history checks.

a. Conviction of a felony or a crime of moral turpitude (lying, stealing or cheating)
within seven (7) years will disqualify you.
b. The process can take up to 30 days to complete.

6. After receiving this information, the file will be given to the Chief of Police for approval.

7. After approval, the permit will be mailed to you at the business location or other
arrangements can be made.



