Board of Zoning Appeals (appointed by District)

The chief role of the Board of Zoning Appeals is to hear variance applications relative to the Roanoke County Zoning Ordinance.


  • 7:00 pm
  • Third Wednesday of each month (as needed)
  • Roanoke County Administration Center
    5204 Bernard Drive
    Roanoke, VA 24018

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings.

Current Agenda

Archived Documents, Minutes and Meeting Packets by Year 


The board consists of five members who serve five-year terms and are appointed by the Board of Supervisors. Appointments to fill vacancies are only for the unexpired portion of the remaining term. Members may be reappointed to succeed themselves.

  • Richard L. "Jyke" Jones, Jr., Chairman
    Catawba Magisterial District
  • W. Eric Thomas, Vice-Chairman
    Vinton Magisterial District
  • Vacant Position
    Cave Spring Magisterial District
  • Carlton Wright, Member
    Hollins Magisterial District
  • Robert Arthur, Member
    Windsor Hills Magisterial District